top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBooks&I

The Search Party - Simon Lelic

The Search Party – Simon Lelic


Wow I was lucky enough to receive and advance copy of this book via NetGalley and I’m truly thankful that I did.

An original premise – bringing a new twist to the ‘girl lost in the woods’ plot that we all know so well.

It is told mainly through the statements of five young adults who through their own actions lies and deceits become the main suspects in both a missing persons enquiry and a tragic murder. Simon Lelic uses a writing technique I have not encountered before and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We as readers really feel as though we are sitting across the interview desk from these confused and lost teenagers. We learn enough about all of the suspects to both care about and suspect them which I also enjoyed.

The main police investigator, Fleet is not the most likeable or charming detective but his brokenness and determination to continue when his superiors lose faith in him make him a great unlikely hero.

There is strong underlying theme of bonds in this novel, the bond between Fleet and the town he grew up in, the bond between the kids and the woods, and the bond between the kids themselves. At times is seems to stretch and unravel to the smallest of threads but it remains true.

An excellent twisting and turning whodunnit with a wonderful cast of characters. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page