top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBooks&I

One By One - Ruth Ware



Thank you to NetGalley and Ruth Ware for the opportunity to read One by One. I was captivated from the very first chapter and marvelled at the way the author brought a very Agatha Christie style whodunnit into a contemporary setting.


The story begins with the arrival of a tech companies employees to a remote skiing lodge, they are there seemingly for some sort of team bonding exercise but immediately there is an undercurrent of dislike and distrust among our motley crew of characters. Despite the high number of characters introduced early on in the novel the author described them well enough as to be able to feel you know them all right away. We all know a Topher and an Eva somewhere in our backlog of acquaintances!


The tension steadily grows throughout the first few chapters to a point where it is rather unnerving but it didn't feel forced and I though it was a clever idea to bring the characters back to a point where they had no technology, especially ironic considering they all work for a app company.


The finale is particularly gripping and the final chapter tidies up all the loose ends nicely to avoid any disappointment.


I highly enjoyable book with all the twists and turns that I crave as an avid murder mystery reader. I hadn't come across a Ruth Ware book before but I've already chosen The Long Game as my next read!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page