top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBooks&I

The List - Siobhan Vivian



A bit late to the party with this one but worth the wait none the less. It struck me as an interesting premise although I did have some concerns over the handling of potentially uncomfortable subject matter.


My concerns were unfounded however when I started to read.


What I Enjoyed Most about The List by Siobhan Vivian


1. Memorable characters - 8 is a lot of main protagonists but there was enough depth and intrigue in all of them to keep them at the forefront of my mind.


2. Rawness of some of the difficult topics - there are a lot of difficult young adult topics in this novel as you can imagine from the premise but they were handled sensitively and carefully rather than self-pityingly or repetitively to the point of boredom which I have encountered with other novels in this genre.


3. Girl power - Sod off Andrew!!!


4. Honesty - There was a lot of honesty in this novel, from characters realising they might not be as perfect as they think they are, questioning their own kindness and motivations and also the honesty of friendship. No-one is 'perfect' in this book and no-one is downright evil - they are all just different shades on the spectrum of what it's like to be a teenage girl.


5. The book left me wanting to know what happens next and that is always a good thing!


I'd give this book four out of five stars


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page