top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBooks&I

One of Us is Next - Karen McManus




As an enthusiastic reader of Karen McManus’s previous two novels (One of Us is Lying and Two Can Keep a Secret) I was so excited to see what was in store for our Bayview High alumni. This masterful author did not disappoint, despite the time that had passed since last reading One of Us is Lying I was immediately transported back to where we last said farewell.

The long lasting impressions of Simon’s actions adding an unmistakable paranoia to both the characters and the reader.


What I enjoyed most about One of Us is Next by Karen McManus.


1.The blend of new and old characters worked really well and prevented any stagnation to the story.


2.The fast pace and gripping plot.


3. The complexity of the characters - even when not vital to the plot they add a layer to the story that makes it feel believable.


4. Character like-ability - it’s difficult to steer clear of the high school cliches/ stereotypes but I think the author does this well thus making the characters highly likeable and relatable.


5. The twists and turns that kept me turning the pages WELL into the night.


I would definitely recommend this book.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page